top of page

For All Non-Custodial Parents

Shadows are falling and I been here all day It's too hot to sleep and time is running away Feel like my soul has turned into steel I've still got the scars that the Son didn't heal - Not Dark Yet - Bob Dylan

He has always had an innate ability to scratch certain itches that are unreachable by others. Not Dark Yet is another scratch that hits a bulls-eye. In the first stanza, he states

"I've still got the scars that the Son didn't heal"

Most lyrics sites quote the word "sun" in that line. I don't believe it, for two reasons. The word "sun" makes absolutely NO sense. Second, having spent several years as a born again Christian, I believe Mr. Zimmerman meant Son, so that is how I see it. If you don't believe me, ask him next time you talk with him.

However, this post isn't about song lyrics, it's about scars. Sadly, as we all know, scars never completely heal. I have scars on me that I earned as an 8, 9, and 10 year old boy. They remain with me today. And of course, I get new ones every so often, even this late in life.

The deepest, longest scar was when my wife filed divorce papers in 2001, with it being final in 2003. In reality, it wasn't the divorce itself that left the scar, it was the ensuing 15 years of extreme malice, viciousness and cruelty that she imposed on our children and myself as she sought the coveted "Pol Pot Award" for divorcée's

For the record, as of February 2018, all legal constraints forced on me by the Arizona family court way back in 2003, were vaporized. I am finally, in every sense of the word, a free man.

Anyway, over the course of those 15 excruciating years, a tiny ray of sunshine came into my life in the form of a legal citing regarding "Parental Access to Records". Those three legal lines meant that I indeed did have legal ground to stand on when it came to information about my children. So, without further ado, here is that citation:

ARS (Arizona Revised Statute) 25-403.06

25-403.06. Parental access to prescription medication and records

A. Unless otherwise provided by court order or law, on reasonable request both parents are entitled to have equal access to prescription medication, documents and other information concerning the child's education and physical, mental, moral and emotional health including medical, school, police, court and other records directly from the custodian of the records or from the other parent.

B. A person who does not comply with a reasonable request shall reimburse the requesting parent for court costs and attorney fees incurred by that parent to force compliance with this section.

C. A parent with joint legal custody shall not designate one pharmacy in a single location as the only source of the child's prescription medication without agreement of the other parent.

D. A parent who attempts to restrict the release of documents or information by the custodian or attempts to withhold prescription medication without a prior court order is subject to appropriate legal sanctions.

Since I was provided with this citation, it has since been amended to include prescription medications. However, at it's heart, your ex CANNOT prevent you from having access to information about your kids. Even though they often will do that very thing.

Restriction of information by the custodial parent is the very ice pick that was driven into my heart hundreds of times over the years by her as she strove to make our children and I pay for her unhappiness. But that all changed once I received that legal citation.

And now, I post it for any and all to use in their own defense. Grab a hold of this citation, thank God for what it means, and use it for what it is. A shield to protect you and your children.

Now, go see your kids, and show them how much you love them.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page